Sometimes mistakes happen…and you learn to not always trust google!!

Whilst travelling New Zealand North Island we were joined by my boyfriend and a friend for two weeks of road tripping. Having already done a tone of research on prices etc we plumped for About New Zealand car rentals. The first test of our trip went smoothly, managing to get four people in the same place after 3 separate plane journeys. We got that one down. The next was a great night out in Auckland. I have no idea where we went or what it was called, all I know was I was very grateful they let me in without my passport (you can’t get into or buy alcohol in NZ with a foreign drivers licence it turns out). The next day turned into the day from hell.

We all woke up with some form of hangover, although i now believe that I actually may technically have still been drunk at breakfast, as I was far to happy. We were all pretty excited to be going to get our hire car and starting off on our NZ road trip, me and Kat especially as it meant we no longer had to lug our hefty rucksacks around. The night before I’d set out to find out where we picked our car up fro using the link in my confirmation email. Probably not the best idea when it was accompanied by a few drinks. I was mildly surprised when I discovered Google was sending us to the opposite side of Auckland, 30 minutes from our current accommodation. Assuming it must be right because I’d linked there from the email I set about searching for public transport routes to get to the destination shown on my map.

We waited half an hour for the bus in the morning, and forty minutes later, with a sinking feeling in my stomach, not just nausea from the night before, we got off the bus in very much a residential area (Kat dashed off the bus just in time to throw up on the side of the road) and no car rental agencies in sight. All of us were feeling pretty ropey by this point as the realisation dawned and another google confirmed we were now actually half an hour away from our car rental still and further away than when we had started. It was a city branch after all. So we bunked down on the opposite side of the road to await our dreaded return journey into Auckland. By this point I was desperate for the toilet and seriously considering knocking door to door to find somewhere, much to Christians possible disgust. Fortunately we had a very lovely bus driver who let me jump off at a Burger King for two minutes, panic over.

This time we got off the bus and found ourselves a five minute or so walk away from the rental, which was much more manageable. So we finally picked up our car and left Auckland 4 hours later than we had originally planned and didn’t make it to Cape Teinha in a day. Who needs a plan anyway?!

2 thoughts on “Sometimes mistakes happen…and you learn to not always trust google!!

Leave a Reply

