Settling in!

Day 2 & 3 Thursday 19/ Friday 20 June 2014

Firstly a big shout out to my not so little brother Harry who turned 18 today, this is the first big event of the next year that I’m going to have to get used to not being around for. HAPPY BIRTHDAY though, I hope you had loads of fun and look forward to celebrating next year!

My first whole day in Canada is now complete and so far if I’m honest it feels a bit like I am just on holiday. I am missing my regular internet access already, hence these posts are already behind and coming out a bit post humorously shall we say. Fingers crossed the wifi will be back up at the house soon and I will sorted on my phone in the next week so it’ll feel a little more normal. But this is good practise for when we reach countries and connection is really bad. For today I was down at a good old internet cafe (that also couples as a launderette) to get my fix for an hour of social media and email catch up. Unfortunately it also meant I was online in time to see us loose horrifically to Uruguay in the World Cup :(. Japan however managed to secure a draw, so in terms of my sweepstake team I was much happier.

Spent the afternoon chilling out and relaxing in the garden, but don’t get to jealous, I’ve already been bitten and it’s only been one day! The biggest reminder in the world to but bug spray on first thing in the morning. I avoided one bugger by it kamikazeing itself into my glass of Chardonnay. The day was ended by a lovely meal curtsy of Greg and Libby’s friends and a few alcoholic beverages and a late night chat by the fire. I think I’m being lulled into a false sense of security as next week the real work might be starting :/

Friday saw more of the essentials happening, went food shopping, cannot believe how expensive things like cheese are here, not sure how I will survive, definitely going to have to go for in moderation only!

Attempting to be of help has led to me trying to brush up on some culinary skills, so far they’ve stretched to a tabbouleh salad, veggie kebabs and preparing humous! Not a lot but I’m a little bit proud. Oh and boiling eggs, what more could you need to know?
20140623-162707-59227330.jpg

Leave a Reply

